Hockey Development Curriculum

A Curriculum Based on Themes

The on-ice curriculum at Bridgedale Academy follows seven themes rotating in weekly cycles. These Seven Themes are Skating, Puck Handling, Passing, Shooting, Positional Play, Checking and Game Concepts. These themes are at the foundation of player development. They comprise the areas of play that the best hockey players in the world all master. They are crucial to players hoping to maximize their development and realize their full potential to play at the highest possible level.

The relative emphasis on these seven themes rotates in weekly cycles. And with each repeated weekly cycle, the drills and activities become increasingly more challenging. As a result, over the course of the school year the curriculum raises expectations for the players, challenging them on an individually appropriate basis.


The first four of the seven themes are at the root of a player’s basic skills set. They comprise four individual skill sets that every hockey player needs to master in order to become an elite player. These four themes are:

  1. Skating
  2. Puck handling
  3. Passing
  4. Shooting

** Irrespective of what the theme may be for a given week (e.g. checking), at least some time at every training session is dedicated to working on these four primary building blocks.

Developing Hockey Sense

We will also work weekly on developing hockey sense through the use of Small Area Games. Hockey sense is something best developed in an environment where you are being challenged mentally and physically. At the same time, however, players should feel comfortable to make plays and find different ways to do so, because when they do, they tend to be more willing to challenge themselves to try new solutions to the situations.

Read these Bridgedale Academy blogs about Hockey Sense:

Click to Read
Click to Read
Click to Read